skip to content

Cambridge Biosciences DTP PhD Programme




Our partnership includes University Departments and Institutes, across the Schools of Biological Sciences, Clinical Medicine, Physical Sciences, and Technology, and four external research organisations (Partner Institutions) situated nearby.

Our 4-year Programme allows students to choose research projects in any of the partner Departments or Institutes listed (subject to the scope of the relevant Theme) and students are encouraged to do their two first year rotation projects in different locations. Each of the partners is internationally leading in its areas of specialisation, and together we cover the full remit of BBSRC science. Students join research groups that have many national and international collaborations with both academic and commercial partners.

Students undertaking research in Partner Institutes remain registered with the University, receive their award from the University and have access to facilities at both the University and the Partner Institution.

The Departments and Partner Institutions are:

School of the Biological Sciences

Department of Biochemistry
Department of Genetics
Department of Pathology
Department of Pharmacology
Department of Physiology, Development and Neuroscience
Department of Plant Sciences
Department of Psychology
Department of Veterinary Medicine
Department of Zoology
Gurdon Institute
Sainsbury Laboratory (SLCU)
Wellcome Trust-MRC Cambridge Stem Cell Institute


School of Clinical Medicine

Cambridge Institute for Medical Research (CIMR)
Department of Clinical Neurosciences
MRC Cognition and Brain Sciences Unit
Wellcome-MRC Institute of Metabolic Science (IMS)


School of Physical Sciences

Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics
Pure Mathematics and Mathematical Statistics
Department of Chemistry
Department of Physics


School of Technology

Department of Chemical Engineering and Biotechnology
Department of Computer Science & Technology
Department of Engineering


Partner Institutions

Babraham Institute
National Institute of Agricultural Botany (NIAB)
Wellcome Sanger Institute